OpenAI announces a new configuration that allows the user to disable their ChatGPT history in order to improve their privacy when using the tool.
ChatGPT already has a new privacy feature to protect user information. This update will allow anyone to turn off their chat history and disable their ability to use your data to train and improve AI models.
To understand it better, comment that if you deactivate it, the content shared with ChatGPT would not be used to improve the model, and it means that the conversations will be retained for 30 days and then they are deleted from the OpenAI system.
“When chat history is disabled, we will retain new conversations for 30 days, reviewing them only as necessary to monitor abuse, before permanently deleting them,” the company explains.
How to disable ChatGPT history, step by step
This new feature comes after the temporary ban in Italy last month for possible privacy violations. OpenAI was told it could resume service in the country if it improves user protection and allows users to disable ChatGPT history from processing their data.
Since then, OpenAI has pledged its commitment to safety and security, saying it will “continue to improve security precautions as our AI systems evolve. “
To make the settings change and your chat history is no longer stored you must:
- Sign in to your ChatGPT account
- Click on the three dots next to your email address near the bottom left corner of the screen.
- Then click on ‘Settings’, another window will appear (‘Data Control’) where you can disable the ‘Chat history’ setting
- You can reverse this decision by pressing the ‘Enable chat history’ button
The truth is that if you keep your chats with ChatGPT for a month it seems that this functionality is not really useful. In the end, the company draws on these conversations to continue feeding and improving its chatbot, but if you enable a function to protect user privacy, any interaction you have with it should be deleted immediately.