The Apple ID is the most important account we can have on our devices. As we have already mentioned on more than one occasion, it is probably more important than the bank account, because access to the bank is stored on the keychain of… our Apple ID. An account that, in some cases, we may need to delete.
Delete Apple ID within 3 minutes
The main reason to delete an Apple account is to have more than one. At some point we may want to create a new one and abandon the old account or open more than one by mistake or to be able to test applications from other countries. Whatever the reason that leads us to delete an Apple account permanently, the steps to follow are the following :
- We enter privacy.apple.com
- At the bottom we tap on Request to delete your account.
- We choose the reason for deletion.
- We touch Continue.
- We confirm again.
Here Apple is going to give us a code that we must keep safe, as it is the only way to stop the elimination process if we change our minds. Keep in mind that once we confirm the removal request, Apple verifies that, in fact, we have made the request. This verification can take up to 7 days. Upon approval, the Apple ID and all data is permanently deleted beyond recovery by us or Apple.
If during this security period of seven days we need to stop the deletion, it would be enough to contact Apple Support and give them the recovery code to cancel the whole process.
What it means to remove an Apple ID
As we have already started by saying, our Apple ID is the most important account we can have. Thus, deleting such an account has significant repercussions . Apple lists the following:
- You will not be able to access Apple services or your media and App Store purchases.
- Your photos, videos, and documents stored in iCloud will be permanently deleted.
- You won’t receive messages sent to your account through iMessage, FaceTime, or iCloud Mail.
- You won’t be able to sign in or use services like iCloud, Apple Books, the App Store, Apple Pay, Messages, FaceTime, Find My, or any other apps or services you use with your Apple ID.
- Your data associated with Apple services will be permanently deleted. Some exceptions may apply.
- If you’re enrolled in the iPhone Renewal Program, you must continue to make payments for your device.
- Removal does not cancel repairs or Apple Store orders. However, any appointments you have scheduled in the Apple Store will be cancelled. Additionally, open Apple Care cases will be permanently closed and unavailable once the account is deleted.
For all these reasons, it is best that before deleting the account, make a local backup of all the data, log out of all our devices and review the subscriptions that we have active, as they will be canceled when the account is deleted. With these precautions and as needed, we can easily and quickly remove an Apple ID.