The company announced that as of the new date, May 15, whoever does not accept the new conditions will see their account deactivated. That is, it was either accepted or not we could continue using the platform. However, today they have communicated that it will not be the case and the behavior of the accounts will not be modified for this reason:
“No accounts will be deleted on May 15 due to this update and no one will lose WhatsApp functionality either. We will continue to remind people for the next few weeks.”
Those who do not accept will only receive kind reminders: the example that complaints have been a success
According to WhatsApp, the majority of users who have received the new terms of service have accepted them. Those who have not done it yet because they were postponed until the 15th, will not see their account deleted or losing functions as they already warned from the Facebook instant messaging service.
However, they caution that people who do not accept will receive reminders to accept in the future. They have not communicated the frequency of these notices, but if it were high, many users would accept only to stop seeing them.
Either by the complaints in social networks of many users, or by the mentioned growth of Telegram or Signal, the truth is that WhatsApp first postponed these measures and now it has made them not matter too much, with which the victory is total for your opponents and for those concerned about the integration of some of their data with that of Facebook. Something that, it should be remembered, the company always claimed that it would never do when it bought WhatsApp. Since 2017, we know that they lied. Now we have to wait to see what the final decision is after the 15th.
Via | The Next Web